Pop Art and mirror effects are a doddle in DSLR Remote Pro. Set up your booth as usual, copy PhotoboothcreativeFilter.dll into your PhotoboothImages folder, then select the filter you want to use. That’s it!
Set up filters for boomerang GIFs in exactly the same way as for still photos/slideshow GIFs. Guests see the effect of each filter as they pose, not just on their prints and GIFs:
Save the current filter for future use
The current filter is automatically saved* for the Photobooth Images folder you are using. When you next load this Photobooth Images folder into DSLR Remote Pro, it will automatically run the same filter.
*Filter settings are saved in the program registry for each Photobooth Images folder.
Where the outputs are stored
DSLR Remote Pro gives you a lot of control over where your images are stored. This can be really useful when you want to use a watch folder to share, display or upload images from the booth. This post explains where DSLR Remote Pro usually places different types of images.
Mirroring filters in portrait
If you shoot in portrait the top/bottom and left/right filters are swapped. The two by two mosaic works but ‘swap top halves’ is not designed for portrait orientation.
Mirror booths usually do not display the camera’s live view because guests see themselves pose in the mirror.
Breeze DSLR Remote Pro’s support for bespoke interfaces and custom menus makes it a great choice for magic mirrors and photo booths. You can hide the live view whether you are offering still photos, GIFs, slow mo or video booth:
To capture still photos without displaying the live view simply switch it off in Advanced Settings.
This is great when you want to make slideshow GIFs from a set of still photos.
Breeze boomerang GIFs are captured from the camera’s live view, so when live view is switched off you cannot shoot boomerang GIFs.
Hide the live view
Mirror booth users and others who want to shoot boomerang GIFs without showing the live view need to hide it. There is a simple trick to this – move the live view so that it is no longer displayed on screen. If your screen is 1080 x 1920 pixels, offset the live view by more than this (In this example I have offset by 2000 pixels in both directions):
Guests will still see the countdown but not the live view. Magic!
Breeze DSLR Remote Pro powers photo booths and mirror booths worldwide. Licenses cost just US $275* each and include one year’s free upgrades. This post shows screenshots from Breeze DSLR Remote Pro 3.12
This Windows based App runs as a fully functional trial for up to 14 days supporting most Canon DSLR cameras and Canon’s mirrorless M50.
You will often need to add or edit the files in your PhotoboothImages folder when you customize the screens in your booth or mirror. Most of you know that you must name the files you add correctly so that DSLR Remote Pro and other Breeze programs can find them. If you are sure the filename is right but the program doesn’t seem to see it, check the filename extension.
It is very easy to name a file 1.jpg.jpg by mistake, and Windows makes this hard to spot, because Windows File explorer doesn’t show the extension (.jpg or .avi etc) unless you tell it to.
In this post I will show you how to spot errors more easily:
Always display file name extensions
The first example shows an Icons view of the images for a basic booth set up with the Wizard. I find this visual overview very helpful. If you look at the filenames (highlighted in red) you will see that the .jpg file name extensions are missing:
The View tab shows you that the File name extensions box is not checked:
Checking this box will reveal the .jpg extensions:
Fascinating – but why does this matter?
If you accidentally name the a file 1.jpg.jpg instead of just 1.jpg it will be very clear when you look at this window:
If you cannot see these file extensions this is much easier to miss:
If you look at the Details view of the same folder this is what you will see:
Thank you for taking the time to read this. Do share the post with others who may find it useful.
If you are new to DSLR Remote Pro or Webcam Photobooth, first run the Photo booth Setup Wizard. This creates all the screens for a basic working system. It also creates print layouts with a plain white background. The video demonstrates
How to change the background color of your prints
How to add logos and other graphic icons to your prints (DSLR Remote Pro only)
How to add simple captions
how to use Breeze tokens to show the correct date on prints
How to use Breeze tokens to automatically add the event name to prints
How to import pre-designed layouts
How to add a QR code
The video is intended to give you a taste of the Print Layout Editor. See the program help files for more details
It’s great to hear that many more of you are using profiles. One common problem we come across runs something like this
I have been using profiles to do [… wonderful things I could never offer before]. Today I am running a different event, but whenever I start the program/each group of guests finish their session it goes back to the old settings. What is wrong?
When you use profiles you may have checked the boxes to load default profiles at start up/ after each session / when the program starts. You need to uncheck these boxes when you no longer want to use these proflies.
When you don’t want to use profiles for an event follow these steps:
Start the booth when DSLR Remote Pro is started and the camera connected
To start the Photobooth running as soon as DSLR Remote Pro is started and the camera connected and switched on, select Advanced Settings then check the box Start full screen photobooth automatically ….
Hide the camera controls on the main screen
DSLR Remote Pro allows you to control the camera from your PC. You can find these settings on the left of the main screen (highlighted in green below).
To hide these settings select View then uncheck Show Camera Controls:
The main screen will no longer show the camera settings:
Hide or reveal the large Photobooth Shortcut buttons
The large buttons at the top of the main screen (highlighted in green below) are called Photobooth Shortcut buttons. They are quick ways to control your booth.
To hide or reveal these buttons select View then check or uncheck Photobooth Shortcuts
Choose which Photobooth Shortcut buttons are shown on the main screen
If necessary show the Photobooth Shortcut buttons as above.
Select View then Photobooth Shortcuts Settings to see the Photobooth Shortcut Setp Screen
The standard buttons are highlighted in green above. Check or uncheck any of these buttons to change the Shortcut buttons on the main screen. In this example the operator will only see buttons to start the booth and access the Print Layout Editor (which lets them make changes to the Print Layout)
You can display any combination of the following standard Shortcut buttons in DSLR Remote Pro 3.8.1
Edit QR code
Photobooth Setup Wizard
Reprint Photobooth Photo
Take Test Photo
The default set of five buttons are shown in red in this list.
Change the wording of the Photobooth Shortcut buttons (great for localization)
Select View then Photobooth Shortcuts Settings to see the Photobooth Shortcut Setp Screen.
1. Edit the text of any button; here Start Photobooth has been changed to Go!
2. You can also change the size of the buttons
3. Press OK to save the new settings before leaving this screen.
Password protect or lockdown the settings
You can prevent unauthorized access to the Advanced Settings and Photobooth Setup Wizard using Lockdown.
Select view then Lockdown mode..
Enter a password and press OK to save it.
Lockdown prevents unauthorised access to the Advanced Settings and Photobooth Setup Wizard. Operators will still be able to alter the print layout if necessary during an event.
Note: The lockdown password can be reset if necessary. Contact firstname.lastname@example.org for details.
Create your own Shortcut buttons to run specific profiles
Profiles are a powerful tool in Breeze software; they are often used to offer guests choices. You can also use profiles to give the operator a menu of common ways to set the booth up, which are tailored to your business model. Profile 1 might be a basic booth with simple prints; Profile 2 a choice of prints or animated GIFs, Profile 3 prints and GIFs with social sharing. See this post for an introduction to profiles
This section explains how to link profiles you have already created to Shortcut buttons. It does not explain how to create profiles.
Select View then Photobooth Shortcuts Settings to return to the Photobooth Shortcut Setup Screen
Check the buttons for each profile you want to use (1), and customise the text for each button (2).
When you have finished, press OK (3) to return to the main screen.
The new buttons for each profile are shown highlighted in green.